Make your own free website on

Bootleg Reviews

Seventh Heaven

Key: classic:***** excellent:**** good:*** fair:** poor:*

Kurt jammin'

  1. Drain You
  2. Aneurysm
  3. School
  4. Been A Son
  5. Negative Creep
  6. Smells Like Teen Spirit
  7. Aneurysm
  8. School
  9. Floyd the Barber
  10. Smells Like Teen Spirit
  11. About A Girl
  12. Polly
  13. Lithium
  14. Sliver
  15. Come As You Are
  16. Breed
  17. Been A Son
  18. Negative Creep
  19. On A Plain
  20. Blew
  21. Rape Me
  22. Spank Thru
  23. Territorial Pissings
Recorded live at Paradiso Club, Holland, November 5th, 1991 and on tour-various dates 1991.

This bootleg was my first bootleg.It has it's ups and downs but for the most part it's really good. After the first few songs, the sound quality deteriorates a bit. There's more "hiss" in the background and the band is playing a little sloppily. On the upside there's an early version of "Rape Me" with a guitar solo in it. I'd recommend it for a serious fan. And for the not so serious fan there are better ones. Rating=***1/2

Trick or Treat
Kurt playing

  1. Jesus Doesn't Want Me For A Sunbeam
  2. Aneurysm
  3. Drain You
  4. School
  5. Floyd the Barber
  6. Smells Like Teen Spirit
  7. About A Girl
  8. Polly
  9. Breed
  10. Sliver
  11. Love Buzz
  12. Lithium
  13. Been A Son
  14. Negative Creep
  15. On A Plain
  16. Blew
  17. Rape Me
  18. Territorial Pissings
  19. Endless Nameless

Recorded live at the Paramount Theater, Seattle, Washington, USA. October 31st, 1991.

This bootleg is awesome! Its sound quality is great, it could be something that Geffen would release. It was recorded on Halloween of 1991 and Dave makes a note of that when he says to the audience "Like only two percent of you people are in costumes, personally I think it's very lame...unless you're all supposed to be punk rockers."Also, when it comes to the songs, they play a great electric distorted version of "Jesus Doesn't Want Me For A Sunbeam". It also includes a guitar solo. As for the rest of the songs, they're played very well and sound excellent. You'll also enjoy the little things in between the songs that the guys say to each other and the audience. I highly recommend this bootleg to everyone. It's for the serious fan and the not-so serious fan. Rating=****1/2


  1. Radio Friendly Unit Shifter
  2. Drain you
  3. Breed
  4. Serve the Servants
  5. Come As You Are
  6. Smells Like Teen Spirit
  7. Sliver
  8. Dumb
  9. In Bloom
  10. About A Girl
  11. Lithium
  12. Pennyroyal Tea
  13. School
  14. Polly
  15. Very Ape
  16. Lounge Act
  17. Rape Me
  18. Territorial Pissings
  19. All Apologies
  20. On A Plain
  21. Scentless Apprentice
  22. Heart-Shaped Box
  23. Improvisation Including Drum Solo
  24. The Man Who Sold The World--from Unplugged

Recorded Live in Rome, Italy at Palaghiaccio, February 22nd, 1994.

This bootleg is also excellent! As I've said before, Geffen could release this recording officially and you wouldn't be able to tell the difference. The band plays excellent with Pat Smear on rhythmn guitar. They play songs from Nevermind and In Utero mostly and "The Man Who Sold The World" is taken from the MTV Unplugged in New York recording. I really liked the way "Come As You Are" and "Serve the Servants" sounded on this one. They're played almost perfectly and having Pat Smear as rhythmn guitarist really worked out well. Dave's drum solo as the finale is pretty good and you'll enjoy Krist yelling at the security guards trying to speak Italian. This was probably one of Nirvana's last best shows. Only two months after this recording Kurt Cobain would be found dead in his home. I very highly recommend this bootleg. You'll get songs from Nirvana's best two albums. This album I recommend for everyone. Rating:*****

B-Side Themselves

  1. Turnaround
  2. D-7
  3. Son of A Gun
  4. Molly's Lips
  5. Aneurysm
  6. Even in His Youth
  7. Been A Son
  8. New Wave Polly
  9. Something in the Way
  10. Here She Comes Now
  11. Curmudgeon
  12. Oh, The Guilt
  13. Return of the Rat
  14. Endless Nameless
  15. Pay to Play
  16. I Hate Myself and I Want To Die
  17. Verse Chorus Verse
  18. Marigold
  19. Moist Vagina
  20. Gallons of Rubbing Alcohol Flowing Through The Strip

This album is a studio album. Some of the songs on it weren't released officially released.

This bootleg is also another great one. A few of these songs you could fine on Incesticide and on singles but other than that it's great. Sound quality is excellent and once again, this could be a bootleg that DGC could release and you wouldn't be able to tell the difference. "Verse Chorus Verse" is an excellent song and "Gallons of Rubbing Alcohol Flowing Through The Strip" gave me a laugh. I highly recommend this one to anyone. Believe me, you won't be disappointed. Rating=****1/2

Playing at the Moon

  1. Jesus Doesn't Want Me For A Sunbeam
  2. Here She Comes Now
  3. D-7
  4. Aneurysm
  5. Drain You
  6. School
  7. Floyd the Barber
  8. About A Girl
  9. Love Buzz
  10. Smells Like Teen Spirit
  11. Breed
  12. Polly
  13. Spank Thru
  14. Sliver
  15. Blew
  16. Been A Son
  17. Negative Creep
  18. Endless Nameless

Recorded live at the Moon Restaurant, New Haven, Connecticut, September 26th, 1991.

I think this bootleg was alright. Its sound quality is fair and the band is playing sloppily. You could find better versions of the songs from this bootleg on other bootlegs. But if you are a hardcore Nirvana fan, this bootleg is just part of the collection. For everyone else, don't expect Geffen quality stuff. I enjoyed it, but I'd still rather listen to Trick or Treat or Coma.Rating=***